God is ABSOLUTELY sovereign, yet we are to pray?

More thoughts from John Piper regarding Jude 20-21, the passage I’ve been considering in my morning times lately…

…don’t ever think, Since God is the decisive keeper of my soul, and I am eternally secure (Which is true! Romans 8:30; John 10:29; Philippians 1:6), therefore I don’t need to be vigilant to pray for perseverance. That would be like saying, Since God is the decisive giver and sustainer of life, I don’t need to breathe. I can spend as much time underwater as above water and it won’t make any difference. Yes it will. God’s means of sustaining life is not only the gift of life, but the gift of breath to sustain it (Acts 17:25).

So don’t think, Since God is the decisive keeper of my soul, I can spend as much time in prayerless sinning as in prayerful serving, and it won’t make any difference. Yes it will. God’s means of keeping your soul is not only the gift of life, but also the gift of prayer to sustain it. If you don’t receive and use the gift of life-sustaining prayer, there is little reason to think that you receive and cherish the gift of life. If you don’t treasure the gift of breath, you don’t cherish the gift of life.

Lord, show me HOW to implement believing prayer, Holy Spirit-dependent prayer, into my daily life so that I will be sustained and kept for eternal life!

2 thoughts on “God is ABSOLUTELY sovereign, yet we are to pray?

  1. I actually just taught the other week on the perseverance of the saints. God’s sovereignty and its relationship to our responsibility is an amazingly deep thing to me. It’s definitely something worth pondering and chewing on.

    • HI Loren,

      Yes, AMAZINGLY deep… I have a 15 year old who asks these kinds of questions all the time, not in an antagonistic way, but because she truly wants to understand. We’ve come to a conclusion together that we can continue to seek, but must be humble enough to realize that God-sized things may not be ABLE to fit in human-sized souls… at least not completely…

      blessings

What do you think? Share your thoughts & start the discussion!

