4 ways to pray the gospel over your life

I find a lot of help from www.theresurgence.org – and today’s post is no exception.  This post gives 4 ways you can pray the truth of the gospel over your life, your kids’ lives, your family’s lives, your church family’s lives – you get the idea?

1. “In Christ, there is nothing I could do that would make you love me more, and nothing I have done that makes you love me less.”
Pray about this “gift righteousness” of the gospel (2 Cor. 5:21) and go to war against the incipient works-righteousness hardwired into our hearts.

2. “Your presence and approval are all I need today for everlasting joy.”  
Pray about this value of God’s presence in our lives. It’s one thing to know that Jesus is your possession; it’s another for that approval to have such weightiness in our hearts that our captivity to other idols is snapped.

3. “As you have been to me, so I will be to others.”  
Pray about and consider the extravagant generosity of God toward us. His generosity toward us leads us to radical generosity toward others.   

4. “As I pray, I’ll measure your compassion by the cross and your power by the resurrection.”
Pray that God would help you view the world through the lens of the gospel. Seeing the compassion and power of God revealed in the gospel produces bold, audacious faith in our hearts. 

 

2 thoughts on “4 ways to pray the gospel over your life

  1. I think it was James MacDonald who said one time that we need to do a lot more talking to ourselves and less listening to ourselves. And what a better thing to tell ourselves repeatedly than our standing because of the gospel.

What do you think? Share your thoughts & start the discussion!

