TRIPLE A – A tool for your time with the Lord

This morning as I was busy about my morning time of reading, study, and prayer – I realized something that I’ve been doing for a long time that I thought might be helpful to you.  I do it AS I read scripture, turning what I’m reading into prayers of various sorts.  Here’s the basic idea, then I’ll give you an example… up until this morning I had never “labeled” what I do.. so here goes!  Let’s call it…

TRIPLE A

A – I assess myself
A – I admit my need
A – I ask the Father/Jesus to meet that need

Here’s a good passage to give you an idea of how it looks practically…

O how abundant is Your goodness, which You have stored up for those who fear You and worked for those who take refuge in You, in the sight of the children of mankind! – Psalm 31:19

A- Assess – This passage holds a promise for those who fear the Lord and take refuge in Him.  I want to be a beneficiary of that promise.  So, I assess… do I fear the Lord?  Do I take refuge in Him?

A – Admit – I admit the places and ways in my life that I do not fear or take refuge in the Lord.  I’m as honest as I know how to be.  Then I further admit that I don’t have the capacity to properly fear the Lord as I should, nor do I have the will to take refuge in Him at all times.

A – Ask – I ask the Lord to CAUSE me to fear Him rightly.  I ask Him to MAKE me one who takes refuge in Him.

These kinds of “scripture prayers” not only make my time in the scriptures more engaging, but also more meaningful and personal.  Turn scripture into your own prayer… look for ways it applies to you, ways you can see your own failures and turn that back to the Lord in a prayer of need.

What do you think? Share your thoughts & start the discussion!

