Tools for Your Quiet Time #7 – S.P.A.C.E.P.E.T.S.

This is post #7 in a series of posts “Tools for Your Quiet Time.”  You can find the earlier posts here: #1#2#3#4#5 #6

SPACEPETS (no, it’s not a joke)

This method is another form of the Question method, only with more specific questions. The name of this study method comes from an acronym used to help you ask questions of the passage you are studying. I first became aware of this method from Pastor Rick Warren, as covered in his book, “Dynamic Study Methods” which is now out of print.

BENEFITS

  • This method will help you to consider the meaning of a passage from a wide variety of angles.

WHAT YOU WILL NEED

  • A trustworthy Bible translation (ESV, NIV, NASB, NKJV, KJV, RSV)

HOW TO DO IT

  • Read your selected passage. Perhaps read it again to get a better feel for it. Make sure you have a good grasp of the situation and context, as well as the basic ideas in it.
  • Begin walking through the questions below, asking them to yourself as you read the passage again.

In this passage is there any…

  • Sin to confess? Do I need to ask forgiveness of anyone or make any restitution?
  • Promise to claim? Is it a universal promise? Have I met the condition(s)?
  • Attitude to change? Am I willing to work on a negative attitude and begin building toward a positive one?
  • Command to obey? Am I willing to do it no matter how I feel?
  • Example to follow? Is it a positive example for me to copy or a negative one to avoid?
  • Prayer to pray? Is there anything I need to pray back to God?
  • Error to avoid? Is there any problem that I should be alert to, or beware of?
  • Truth to believe? What new things can I learn about God the Father, Jesus Christ, the Holy Spirit, or the other biblical teachings?
  • Something to praise God for? Is there something here I can be thankful for?
2 thoughts on “Tools for Your Quiet Time #7 – S.P.A.C.E.P.E.T.S.

  1. I am learning more ways to enjoy my bible ! Being 86 years old, I have read many passages of the bible to prove a point ! Now I am reading it through Rick Warrens way to IMPROVE whatever years I have left. My life in the last ten years, has been to touch lives ! Now I have a wonderful tool to use ! Thank you . Jack Gutman

What do you think? Share your thoughts & start the discussion!

