Reading list for my sabbatical… so far

I want to spend a good amount of my sabbatical time reading… for the sake of my own soul and for the sake of decompressing a very full mind and heart.  Most of the books I’ve chosen so far I feel I’ve been “led to” by one means or another, and am eager to have the time to do some reading on a more “relaxed” level than is typical of me.  Anyway, here’s the list so far…

The Spirit-Filled Church – by Terry Virgo

 

 

 

 

 

The Storm of War: A New History of the Second World War by Andrew Roberts
 

 

 

How to Write a Sentence: And How to Read One by Stanley Fish

 

 

 

 

 

Windows of the Soul: Experiencing God in New Ways by Ken Gire

 

 

 

 

 

The Rest of God: Restoring Your Soul by Restoring Sabbath by Mark Buchannan

 

 

 

 

 

Writing for the Soul by Jerry Jenkins

 

 

 

 

 

Institutes of the Christian Religion by John Calvin (no, I don’t expect to finish this one during the break!)

4 thoughts on “Reading list for my sabbatical… so far

  1. I laughed at the last one. That’s a lot to bite off. You know, I heard that Calvin wrote that as a primer for his students so that they could learn the basics of Christianity before diving into more heavy theology. Can you imagine that being reading for your 101 class in Seminary?

    • Yeah… the last one is a “bite at a time” thing, when I get to it, and if I feel the need. Actually, the Institutes went through 5 revisions over Calvin’s lifetime, getting larger each time. His main motivation for writing it came from accounts of the many, many who were being martyred for their faith during that time (and he was actually “on the run” too) – and Calvin desired to set out clearly and comprehensively what was so valuable in the Christian faith that people would willingly and joyfully give their lives for it. Wow…

What do you think? Share your thoughts & start the discussion!

