THIS is what you were made for… (why are you here?)

WHY ARE YOU HERE?

I was on a date with my oldest daughter last week.  She’s 19 and headed to college this coming fall.   We were sitting on the patio at the local roastery, enjoying a latte and great conversation.  I mean that… it was a GREAT conversation.  To top it all off, it was the kind of summer day in Colorado that makes you almost ecstatic that you actually get to live here.

There I was, enjoying the day and my daughter.  As we talked about what each of us was learning from the LORD, she said this (or something very close to it)… and I was pleased to no end.

I’m learning that THIS is what I was made for – this momentright now.  I’m not supposed to be so concerned and eager for the future, because God has given me every day between then and now.  My life is about right now as much as it is about the great things I’m hoping for in the future.

Wow.  She’s learning things in her walk with the LORD that I didn’t learn until much later in life.  I’m proud of what the LORD is doing in her… and I’m instructed by her words.  Thanks to the LORD, who has lavished His amazing grace on our family.

2 thoughts on “THIS is what you were made for… (why are you here?)

  1. Wow, sounds like you’ve raised her well 🙂 It’ll be interesting to see how she continues to mature.
    I think it will be wise to remind her of this conversation for the next few years. It’s easy to lose focus and get distracted as the years go by.

    • Thanks for the encouragement Loren. Can’t say I remember ever having a conversation about those kinds of things before, though. She’s a sharp one – and really does love the LORD. I’ll give the LORD and her mamma most of the credit for that! Good idea on the follow-up conversation, I hadn’t thought of that!

What do you think? Share your thoughts & start the discussion!

