The clock is ticking… what are you doing about it?

Revelation 3:2-3  Wake up, and strengthen what remains and is about to die, for I have not found your works complete in the sight of my God.  Remember, then, what you received and heard. Keep it, and repent. If you will not wake up, I will come like a thief, and you will not know at what hour I will come against you.

I’ve often heard folks say, “Don’t waste a moment.” While I understand the idea behind the statement, I don’t think it’s very helpful. Two reasons…

  1. If you are paranoid that you’re going to “waste” a moment, there are a lot of needed things you probably won’t do (movie night with the family, for example)
  2. It’s not about the moments really… it’s about the totality of life.

The reality is that the clock is ticking on LIFE… the day will come when it will all be over. In the words of Jesus to the church at Sardis, do you or I need to…

  • Wake up?
  • Strengthen what remains?
  • Remember what you have received and heard?
  • Repent?

This is stuff we should take seriously… because we do not know at what hour He will come.

 

 

4 thoughts on “The clock is ticking… what are you doing about it?

  1. As you can imagine, I have a pretty strong opinion on this 🙂
    I am in the camp that believes we shouldn’t waste a moment. However, it’s critical that we define what wasting a moment looks like.
    Working when you should be spending time with family, spending time with family when you should be resting, or resting when you should be working are all examples of wasting the moment.
    Your thoughts?

    • Hi Loren… yeah, I knew you’d have a strong opinion… just didn’t know what it would be exactly!

      I agree with the way you described it… priorities change given the need and the setting – and “not wasting a moment” is dependent on us first, wisely knowing those things about our situation. The reason I feel that the phrase “don’t waste a moment” is not best is because it needs unpacking (like you just did) in order to be clearly understood. Your thoughts?

      By the way… would you know of someone who fits this profile:
      * Older man
      * Successful in business (retired preferable)
      * Very successful at home (godly family, kids grown and faithful)
      * Would be willing to be on my podcast to discuss the “how” in that delicate balance of diligence at work and at home

      ???????

  2. I would agree that it needs unpacking. But I think that’s probably true for almost any way that we refer to time. In our modern culture, we tend to assimilate any phrase about stewarding our time as “work harder” or “spend more time with family” or “rest more” – or any number of simplistic solutions – rather than really looking at the full picture.
    And as far as an interviewee for you, sorry – I can’t really think of any home runs.

What do you think? Share your thoughts & start the discussion!

