Rethinking “church”… for my own benefit

rethinking churchLately I’ve been rethinking church… because of what’s been happening in my own life… here’s the short version…

Today (Jan. 23, 2013) I am 8 days away from the date of my “official” departure from paid Pastoral ministry.

It will be the first time in almost 20 years that I’m not desiring, feeling called/led to be a “Pastor” in an organized local church.

In many ways, it’s weird.

But the reality of my own heart is that God has removed the calling to that role… and has given me another calling that I’m pursuing and praying I will be able to do full time.

Leaving “professional” ministry has naturally sparked a lot of reflection… which is part of what I mean when I say I’m “rethinking” church.

I’ve been a part of a “system” of doing church for the past 20 years.

  • I’ve believed in that system.
  • I’ve promoted it.
  • I’ve worked hard to maintain it.
  • I’ve tweaked and adjusted it.
  • I’ve loved it.

And now I’m not so sure about it… or at least some aspects of it… for more than a handful of reasons.

Over the next few weeks I’m not sure how much time I’ll actually have to write on the subject… but I want to and I intend to.

Stay tuned for more on rethinking church

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Rethinking “church”… for my own benefit

  1. Praying for you dear Carey. My heart skips a beat or two as I think about what you must be feeliing this week and next.DAD

    Norman E Wretlind, Co-Founder, President

    Neighbor HOPE Ministries

    PO Box 620637, Littleton, CO 80162-0637

    H: 1716 3rd St NE, Hickory, NC 28601 // Cell: 303-870-8995

    http://www.neighborHope.com

    “May the God of HOPE fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him,

    so that you may overflow with HOPE by the power of the Holy Spirit” (Romans 15:13)

    Date: Wed, 23 Jan 2013 23:33:41 +0000 To: normanwretlind@msn.com

    • Hi Laurie… I’m looking forward to my thoughts TOO! I think writing about it is going to help me think it through a bit better… eager to see where the LORD leads…

  2. I’m praying for you ~ I suggest that you seek to know what Church has the restoration of the power of Christ’s priesthood ~without it, we cannot fully bless another dear brother ~ Sincerely Deborah

    • Thanks for the prayers Deborah… I’m coming to see that it’s not about “a” priesthood, but “the” priesthood of all believers in Christ. It’s not about “what church” but about all of us as “the” church being what He has intended us to be all along. More to come…

  3. I hope that your new venture is blessed. I’m sure it’s nerve-wracking but exciting to be going through this step in your journey.
    But I would classify myself as someone who is protective of the church. Is everything perfect? Of course not. But Christianity at its core is meant to be a community based religion.

    • Hi Loren… thanks for the encouragement.

      I too am protective of the church. It IS a community-based faith. What I’m beginning to ask is this: “If we REALLY think that community is so important, why do we structure our churches in ways that do not lend themselves to being community-based? (i.e. larger, and larger, and larger) More to come…

  4. have been in the rethinking” church” for a number of years as well.. through some greek study on my husband’s part…grew up in the traditional “church”.. and agree there is definitely a different view that can be taken from reading the scriptures on how and where and when “church” occurred and why in the new testament..the direction that Christianity is going and where the “church” is headed in these days,, gives one reason to pause..I commend you for being willing” to think out of the box”, coming from where you were just at..

What do you think? Share your thoughts & start the discussion!

